McCall MacBain Scholarship Finalists

The McCall MacBain Scholarships at McGill is pleased to announce its largest-ever group of finalists for the September 2024 cohort.

In March, 91 exceptional students will converge on Montreal, Quebec, to interview for the McCall MacBain Scholarships at McGill. The scholarships are the result of a landmark $200 million gift in 2019 by John and Marcy McCall MacBain, the second-largest single donation in Canadian history.

Designed to encourage purposeful leadership, the scholarships enable students to pursue a fully funded master’s or professional degree while participating in mentorship, coaching, and a leadership development program.

Students and graduates of 2,250 universities applied for this opportunity, and the top 277 participated in regional interviews with local leaders in October and November before the 91 finalists were selected.

The 37 international finalists hail from 24 countries. Countries represented for the first time include Brazil, Ecuador, Kenya, Mongolia, Philippines, Rwanda, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Trinidad, and Tunisia. The 54 Canadian finalists come from 36 cities spanning all 10 provinces.

From March 21 to 23, finalists will be interviewed by volunteer leaders from academia, business, government, and the social sector. Up to 30 McCall MacBain Scholars will be selected after final interviews. Finalists who are not selected for the cohort will be eligible to receive an award of $10,000 or $20,000.

“Integrity, kindness, curiosity, and courage are the characteristics we want to see in the next generation of leaders,” said Dr. Marcy McCall MacBain, Chair of the McCall MacBain Scholarships at McGill. “By connecting emerging talent to a world-class graduate education and a community of peers and mentors, we hope to encourage positive leadership for Montreal, Quebec, Canada, and the world.”

“More than 300 senior volunteer leaders were involved in selecting this year’s finalists,” said Natasha Sawh, Chief Executive Officer of the McCall MacBain Scholarships at McGill. “Our team is very much looking forward to welcoming the finalists – who have already distinguished themselves as the top candidates globally – to Montreal in March. We extend our warmest thanks to the universities that nominated them for this opportunity.”

Travel costs for final interviews are covered by the scholarship program.

Regional Awards

The McCall MacBain Scholarships program has also offered Regional Awards of $5,000 or $10,000 each to promising candidates who distinguished themselves at regional interviews. Regional Awards may be applied to eligible studies at McGill or any public university in Canada.

Canadian Regional Awards

  • Ishaan Anand, McGill University (BArch’24) – Saskatoon, SK
  • Muhammad Ansar, University of Toronto – Scarborough (BSc’24) – Mississauga, ON
  • Chris Armiento, Lakehead University (HBSc’22) – Thunder Bay, ON
  • Jordynn Bateman, University of Ottawa (BSc’24) – Fort Erie, ON
  • Emma Brain, Western University (BA/BHSc’24) – Sarnia, ON
  • Isabella Brodeur, Wilfrid Laurier University (BBA’23) – Pickering, ON
  • Gray Brogden, Western University (BA’24) – London, ON
  • Katie Cheslock, University of King’s College (BA’24) – Chelsea, QC
  • Nathan Cheung, University of British Columbia (BSc’23) – Kelowna, BC
  • Keerthana Chockalingam, University of Calgary (BHSc’24) – Calgary, AB
  • Daniella Chukwu, McMaster University (BA’24) – Welland, ON
  • Amy Cran, University of Lethbridge (BA’23) – Medicine Hat, AB
  • Iris Delgado-Lapointe, Université du Québec à Montréal (BA’24) – Montréal, QC
  • Janna Grant, Simon Fraser University (BA’24) – Coquitlam, BC
  • Sophia Iligan, University of Alberta (BSc’24) – Edmonton, AB
  • Sharon Jacob, University of Saskatchewan (BSc’24) – Saskatoon, SK
  • Zakir Kassam, University of British Columbia (BCom’21), Sciences Po Paris (BA’21) – Vancouver, BC
  • Sydney Keyamo, Dalhousie University (BSc’23) – Ottawa, ON
  • Aakanksha Khandwaha, Mount Allison University (BSc’24) – Amherst, NS
  • Jack Killeen, Dalhousie University (BSc’23) – Fall River, NS
  • Amara Kohlert, University of Regina (BSc’24) – Regina, SK
  • Julien Lagacé, University of Calgary (BEng’24) – Calgary, AB
  • Sara Laribi, Université de Montréal (BA’24) – Montréal, QC
  • Jonah Leinwand, University of Waterloo (BASc’24) – Nepean, ON
  • Christina Lennox, Capilano University (BA’24) – Richmond, BC
  • Katelyn Luymes, University of Victoria (BA’22) – Abbotsford, BC
  • Camille Maltais, Université de Montréal (BSW’24) – Granby, QC
  • Breona Martin, Smith College (BA’23) – Coquitlam, BC
  • Nikolas Morel-Ferland, Université de Sherbrooke (BA’24) – Wotton, QC
  • Katie Pallett-Wiesel, McGill University (BA’24) – Montreal, QC
  • SunMin Park, Mount Allison University (BSc’23) – Moncton, NB
  • Sierra Potvin, University of Ottawa (BASc’23) – Ottawa, ON
  • Liam Reid, University of Winnipeg (BA’24) – Ottawa, ON
  • Connor Smith, Western University (BA’23) – Oakville, ON
  • Katherine Strom Trudel, University of Victoria (BSc’23) – Victoria, BC
  • Reilly Sullivan, University of Prince Edward Island (BSc’24) – Quispamsis, NB

International Regional Awards

  • Elvira Abi Zeid, American University of Beirut (BA’24) – Beirut, Lebanon
  • Chukwudumebi Elouise Asem, University of Lagos (BSc’18, MED’21) – Asaba, Nigeria
  • Faber Francisco Chaparro Mario, Universidad de La Sabana (BEng’23) – Bogotá, Colombia
  • Mansi Dhanania, Vellore Institute of Technology (BSc’24) – Chennai, India
  • Tahsin Jalal, North South University (BBA’23) – Dhaka, Bangladesh
  • Biniyam Lombe, University of Bristol (BSc’22) – Adama, Ethiopia
  • Tomer Nadiv, Tel Aviv University (BSc’24) – Hod HaSharon, Israel
  • Justice Appiah Nuamah, University of Mines and Technology (BSc’23) – Dompoase-Adansi, Ghana
  • Khianne Orteza, University of the Philippines (BSc’23) – Camalaniugan, Philippines
  • Tate Pan, New York University Shanghai (BSc’24) – Shanghai, China
  • Naifah Uzlah I. Putri, Universitas Indonesia (BSocSc’22) – South Tangerang, Indonesia
  • Rachel Sanyu, State University of New York at Buffalo (BSc’24) – Kampala, Uganda
  • Moustafa Sherif, American University in Cairo (BSc’24) – El Sheikh Zayed, Egypt
  • Yomni Makonnen Tesfaye, University of Toronto – Scarborough (BSc’24) – Kampala, Uganda
  • Saa Michel Tolno, Université Général Lansana Conté de Sonfonia (BA’17), Calvary West Africa Bible Institute (Dipl’19), University of Johannesburg (Dipl’23) – Boke, Guinea
  • Omokhuwele Umoru, Texas Southern University (BSc’24) – Auchi, Nigeria
  • Farjana Yeasmin, University of Dhaka (BSS’16, MSS’17) – Bogura, Bangladesh
  • Dariia Zadorozhniuk, Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv (BSc’24) – Ladyzhyn, Ukraine

For more information:
Julia Lo, Director of Marketing & Communications
[email protected]